Mt. Vesuvius

School has wound down. Summer has begun. I’m leaving for my dream trip in a matter of days. Sounds great doesn’t it?

On paper it sounds and looks like a great time. In reality, no one warns you about all of the small, complicated details that have to be worked out before you leave the country.

Change money to Euros. Buy electric converters. See/visit everyone and their mother before you go because you’ll be gone for 2 1/2 months (aka forever). Live in a messy room because you’re in the middle of packing. Continue working at your job. Pay for last minute fees, like changing your flight because now someone decides to tell you that you won’t have enough time to make your flight.

Get the picture?

I’m more stressed than I have been all semester, including preparing for Dr. Kemp’s final, writing Dr. O’s 15 page paper, and taking 3 finals all in the same week. Hence the title of this post: Mt Vesuvius. The mountain that has grown on my chin. Thank you stress.

I’m not trying to scare anyone away from studying abroad because the outcome will be completely worth it. I’m simply trying to warn you about everything that must be done before you leave. Someone should have given me fair warning about all of this.

For now I have to study for my placement exam, continue packing, finish my to-do list (one of a thousand), get my GRE prep material together, and clean the kitchen in order to keep my sanity.

There is a light at the end of this long, dark tunnel but it’s on a dimmer and I have to squint one eye and strain my neck to see it. But it’s there.

Leave a Reply

